• Sectors Academics
  • Posted Jobs 3
  • Viewed 51
  • Founded Since 1850

Company Description

Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) is a university in Pretoria NorthGauteng ProvinceSouth Africa.[1] Its current incarnation was formed on 1 January 2015. Previously it was known as Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA) and later as a campus of the University of Limpopo.[2] It is named after South African ANC leader Sefako Makgatho.[3] Since its name-change, students have colloquially referred to the institution using the acronym of its current name (“SMU”) in a similar fashion to manner in which they used the acronym “MEDUNSA” to refer to the institution prior to the change of name.

The Medical University of South Africa (MEDUNSA) was established in 1976 to provide medical education to black students, who were restricted from attending most medical schools in South Africa by the Apartheid government,[4] with a few exceptions at segregated non-white-only medical schools.[5][6]

The seat of the University is located at Ga-Rankuwa.[7] The name change from MEDUNSA to Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) was one of the causes of the riots in August 2014.[8] From 2005 to 2015, the University was a campus of the University of Limpopo, but it was separated following a review of the merger.[9] The launch on 14 April 2015 was attended by President Jacob Zuma and Minister of Higher Education Blade Nzimande, with the President delivering the keynote address.